IME 3010: Entrepreneurial Engineering II

(Product Design and Development)

Fall 2012

    Announcements

Final links are now live!


Links:

Department of Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering
Western Michigan University

Course Syllabus

Course Schedule


Contact Info & Office Hours

Course Instructors:

 Dr. Bob White, Professor, bob.white@wmich.edu
Office: CEAS E-216
Phone: (269) 276-3379
Office Hours:  MW 10:30 AM – 12:00 PM and M 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Dr. Azim Houshyar, Professor, houshyar@wmich.edu
Office: CEAS E-219
Phone: (269) 276-3363
Office Hours:  M 11:30 AM – 12:30 PM

Dr. Tycho Fredericks, Professor, tycho.fredericks@wmich.edu
Office: CEAS E-223
Phone: (269) 276-3360 
Office Hours:
 
 W 1:30 - 2:30 PM

Dr. Steven Butt, Professor, steven.butt@wmich.edu
Office: CEAS F-232
Phone: (269) 276-3356
Office Hours:  M 3:30 - 4:30 PM; W 9:30 - 10:20 AM

Industrial Design Consultant:

David Middleton, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Product Design, david.middleton@wmich.edu

                                                        Graduate Assistants:

                            James Burns (PhD IE), j.burns@wmich.edu
                                    Office: CEAS E-229 & G-211

                            Fehime Utkan (PhD IE)fehime.utkan@wmich.edu
                                    Office: CEAS E-229 & G-210

Undergraduate Assistant:

                             Daniel Panozzo (BS IEE), daniel.j.panozzo@wmich.edu
                                    Office: CEAS G-210 & G-211



Assignments
Assignment 1       Due Friday September 14, 2012

Assignment 2       Due Friday September 21, 2012

Assignment 3       Due Wednesday October 3, 2012      Examples of materials:  EX1   EX2    EX3    EX4

First Team Assessment     Due Friday October 26, 2012 

Midterm Peer Assessment
    Due Wednesday October 31, 2012 

Public Presentation, Video, Poster  Due Friday November 30, 2012

Poster Templates  -- These are examples of poster layouts, you do not have to use these ppt templates.

Final Peer Assessment    Due Friday December 7, 2012

Final Report  
  Due Friday December 7, 2012

Final Presentation, Poster, Video, & Working Model    Due Thursday, December 12, 2011



Lectures
Fredericks:
Chapters 1 & 2

Chapter 3

Chapter 4

Chapter 5





Resources

1. (pdf doc) --- Moen-naked+truth-Customer needs.pdf

2. (video) Malcolm Gladwell's talk about needs and segmentation --- http://www.ted.com/talks/malcolm_gladwell_on_spaghetti_sauce.html

3. (video) Steven Johnson's Where good ideas come from --- http://www.ted.com/talks/steven_johnson_where_good_ideas_come_from.html

4. (ppt doc) Poster Presentation Templates

5. (video)  Kano Model ---  http://www.kanomodel.com/media/public/flash/kanotutorial/main.swf

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Dave's Links:  

"Design Thinking". The PDF can be found at...

http://www.ideo.com/images/uploads/news/pdfs/IDEO_HBR_Design_Thinking.pdf

or

http://www.ideo.com/news/design-thinking1/

 Tim Brown  - CEO of IDEO

          His background:  http://www.ideo.com/news/design-thinking

His BLOG:    http://designthinking.ideo.com/

MIT video lecture by Tim Brown:  http://mitworld.mit.edu/video/357/

           On Creativity and Play:  http://www.ted.com/talks/tim_brown_on_creativity_and_play.html

TED talks
-- Technology, Entertainment, Design:  www.ted.com

Sunni Brown: Doodlers, unite
http://www.ted.com/talks/sunni_brown.html?utm_source=newsletter_weekly_2011-09-27&utm_campaign=newsletter_weekly&utm_medium=email

Sir Ken Robinson:   http://www.ted.com/speakers/sir_ken_robinson.html



Last Revision Date: 11/17/2012