Dr. Jacinda Swanson

 

Daily news sources:

The New York Times, http://www.nytimes.com/

The Washington Post, http://www.washingtonpost.com/

The Wall Street Journal, http://online.wsj.com/public/us

National Public Radio, http://www.npr.org/

C-SPAN http://www.c-span.org/

BBC (UK), http://www.bbc.co.uk/

Guardian (UK), http://www.guardian.co.uk/

Democracy Now!, leftist radio, http://www.democracynow.org/

Free Speech Radio News, leftist radio, http://www.fsrn.org/

Pacifica Radio, left-ish radio, http://www.pacifica.org/

Radio LabourStart, global labor issues, http://radio.labourstart.org/

 

Political magazines:

The Advocate, gay& lesbian issues, http://www.advocate.com/

The American Conservative, Pat Buchananís magazine, http://www.conservative.org/

The American Prospect, http://www.prospect.org/

The American Spectator, conservative magazine, http://www.spectator.org/

Counterpunch, left-ish magazine, http://www.counterpunch.org/

Dollars & Sense, left perspective on economic affairs, http://www.dollarsandsense.org/

The Economist (UK) http://www.economist.com

In These Times, left-ish magazine, http://www.inthesetimes.com/

Left Business Observer, left-ish magazine on business, http://www.panix.com/~dhenwood/LBO_home.html

The Nation, left-ish magazine, http://www.thenation.com/

National Journal, http://nationaljournal.com/about/njweekly/

National Review, conservative magazine, http://www.nationalreview.com/

The New Republic, center-conservative magazine, http://www.nrahq.org/Default.asp

NOW (TV program on PBS), http://www.pbs.org/now/

The Progressive, left-ish magazine, http://www.progressive.org/

Social Policy, left-ish policy magazine published by the American Institute for Social Justice and the ACORN Institute, http://www.socialpolicy.org/

Tikkun, left-ish analysis of Jewish issues, http://www.tikkun.org/

TomPaine.com, http://www.tompaine.com/

The Weekly Standard, conservative magazine, http://www.weeklystandard.com/

Z Magazine, left-ish magazine , http://zmagsite.zmag.org/curTOC.htm

 

Political organizations:

Republican National Party, http://www.rnc.org/, 2008 Republican Party Convention, http://www.gopconvention2008.com/

Democratic National Party, http://www.democrats.org/; 2008 Democratic Party Convention, http://www.demconvention.com/

Libertarian Party, http://www.lp.org/

Green Party, http://www.greenparty.org/

American Reform Party, http://www.americanreform.org/

 

ACORN (Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now), low-income community organizing, http://acorn.org/

ACT UP, AIDS activism, http://www.actupny.org/

AFL-CIO, labor union, http://www.aflcio.org/

American Civil Liberties Union, (individual) rights advocacy, http://www.aclu.org/

Amnesty International, international human rights advocacy, http://www.amnesty.org/

Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now (ACORN), living wage and community issues, http://www.acorn.org/

The Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence, gun-control advocacy, http://www.bradycampaign.org/index.asp

Campaign for Labor Rights, anti-sweatshop group, http://campaignforlaborrights.org/

Center for Responsive Politics, campaign financing and elections, http://www.opensecrets.org/

Christian Coalition, conservative Christian group, http://www.cc.org/

Eagle Forum, Phyllis Schlaflyís conservative political group, http://www.eagleforum.org/psr/index.html

general environmental website, http://www.envirolink.org/

Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting, media watchdog, http://www.fair.org/

Freedom House, studies & measures the extent of democracy & freedom internationally, http://freedomhouse.org/index.htm

Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation, gay & lesbian advocacy, http://www.glaad.org/

Greenpeace, environmental group, http://www.greenpeace.org/

Human Rights Watch, international human rights advocacy, http://www.hrw.org/

NAACP, African-American advocacy, http://www.naacp.org/

National Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action League, abortion rights advocacy, http://www.naral.org/

National Council of La Raza, Latina/o (Hispanic) advocacy, http://www.nclr.org/

National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, lesbian, gay, bisexual & transgender (LGBT) civil rights & advocacy, http://www.thetaskforce.org/

National Organization for Women, left-ish feminist group, http://www.now.org/

National Rifle Association, http://www.nrahq.org/Default.asp

National Right to Life, anti-abortion (pro-life) advocacy, http://www.nrlc.org/

general Native American website, http://www.nativeculture.com/lisamitten/indians.html

People for the American Way, left-ish advocacy concerning institutions associated with U.S. democracy, http://www.pfaw.org/pfaw/general/

Project Vote Smart, info on elections & candidates, http://www.vote-smart.org/

Public Citizen, Ralph Naderís consumer & public interest advocacy group, http://www.citizen.org/

Rainbow/Push Coalition, Jesse Jacksonís racial, social, & economic justice group, http://www.rainbowpush.org/index.html

general interest group website, http://www.polisci.com/web/tanks.htm

 

American Enterprise Institute, limited government & free enterprise think tank, http://www.aei.org/

Brookings Institute, public policy think tank, http://www.brook.edu/dybdocroot/default.htm

Cato Institute, libertarian think tank, http://www.cato.org/index.html

The Century Foundation, left-ish think tank, http://www.tcf.org/

Economic Policy Institute, left-ish think tank on the economy, http://www.epinet.org/

Heritage Foundation, conservative think tank, http://www.heritage.org/

Rand Corporation, public policy think tank, http://www.rand.org/

 

Groups opposing war with Iraq:

http://www.unitedforpeace.org/

http://www.moveon.org/

http://thenation.com/directory/view.mhtml?t=040307

 

U.S. government sites:

White House, http://whitehouse.gov

Senate, http://www.senate.gov/

House of Representatives, http://www.house.gov/

Supreme Court, http://www.supremecourtus.gov/

State of Michigan, http://www.michigan.gov/

 

Register to vote:

http://www.michigan.gov/sos