Dr. Phil's Home · Last Update: 03 May 2011 Tuesday

PHYS-4400 (1)

Electromagnetism (4 credits)

WMU Spring 2011 Session

Registration CRN Numbers:

CRN 13732 - PHYS 4400 - 100

MTu ThF 10:00 - 10:50 · 3363 Rood Hall

Office Hours (Current) · Syllabus (Current) · Topic 1 Assignment (1-28-2011 Fri)

Brau (2003)

Modern Problems in Classical Electrodynamics / Charles A. Brau. ISBN13: 978-0-19-514665-3, ISBN10: 0-19-514665-4 .

Lost and Found items, look here

Dr. Phil on Homework and Studying for Science Classes.

Dr. Phil's Physics Class on Facebook. You can join now if you wish.

FINAL GRADES FOR PHYS-4400 CAN BE FOUND HERE.


This Week in PHYS-4400 at 10am.




PHYS 4400 Electromagnetism 4 hrs. Spring. This course provides an upper-level theoretical treatment of electromagnetic phenomena, using methods of vector calculus. Electro- and magneto-statics, induction, Maxwell's equations, and electromagnetic radiation are treated.

Prerequisites: (Undergraduate level PHYS 3090 Minimum Grade of C or Undergraduate level PHYS 309 Minimum Grade of C) and (Graduate level MATH 5720 Minimum Grade of C or Graduate level MATH 572 Minimum Grade of C or Undergraduate level MATH 5720 Minimum Grade of D or Undergraduate level MATH 572 Minimum Grade of D)


Jan.  10 Mon - PHYS-4400 Begins for Spring 2011
Jan.  14 Fri - Regular Weekly Quizzes Begin
Jan.  14 Fri - Drop/Add Ends (100% Refund)
Jan.  14 Fri - Last Day to Drop without "W"
Jan.  17 Mon - WMU Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Activities < No Classes >
Jan.  28 Fri - Hour Exam 1
Feb.   4 Fri - Hour Exam 1 (Re-Rescheduled)
Feb.  18 Fri - Hour Exam 2
Feb.  24 Thu - Hour Exam 2 (Re-Rescheduled)
Feb.  25 Fri - Spirit Day < No Classes > , Semester Recess begins
Feb 28-Mar 4 - "Spring" Break - No Classes
Mar.   7 Mon - Classes Resume
Mar.  18 Fri - Hour Exam 3
Mar.  21 Mon - Last Day to Drop with "W"
Mar.  21-25  - March Meeting of the American Physical Society, Dallas TX
             - Schedule Adjustments To Be Determined Later If Needed
Mar.  25 Fri - Hour Exam 3 (Re-Rescheduled)
Apr.   8 Fri - Hour Exam 4
Apr.  14 Thu - Topic 1 (Book Report)
Apr.  15 Fri - Hour Exam 4 (Re-Rescheduled)
Apr.  18 Mon - Grace Period for Topic 1 ends at 5pm
Apr.  22 Fri - Last Regular Day of Class
Apr.  22 Fri - Review Class
Apr.  22 Fri - Good Friday (not a WMU holiday)
Apr.  24 Sun - FYI - Easter Sunday
Apr.  25-29  - FINALS WEEK
Apr.  26 Tue - Final Exam 8:00-10:00am (2 hours)
Apr.  30 Fri - End of Spring Semester
May    3 Tue - Grades Due at Noon




       January                 February                 
 Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa    Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa    
                    1           1  2  3  4  5    
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8     6  7  8  9 10 11 12    
  9 10 11 12 13 14 15    13 14 15 16 17 18 19    
 16 17 18 19 20 21 22    20 21 22 23 24 25 26    
 23 24 25 26 27 28 29    27 28                   
 30 31


        March                    April           
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa     Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa    
       1  2  3  4  5                     1 2    
 6  7  8  9 10 11 12      3  4  5  6  7  8  9    
13 14 15 16 17 18 19     10 11 12 13 14 15 16    
20 21 22 23 24 25 26     17 18 19 20 21 22 23    
27 28 29 30 31           24 25 26 27 28 29 30    


         May           
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa    
 1  2  3  4  5  6  7